Fred Rogers Center
Lincoln Highway Museum
The Pie Shoppe
Fred Rogers Center - The Neighborhood Trolley, Daniel Striped Tiger, X the Owl, and many other beloved television characters and storied images make their home at the Fred Rogers Archive. The Archive preserves all the materials related to Fred Rogers personally and to the public person that became the iconic "Mister Rogers."
The Fred Rogers Archive holds a wide range of resources, including many original, handwritten texts by Fred. These items include letters to personal friends and professional colleagues; ideas and outlines from his earliest children's television program (The Children's Corner with Josie Carey); scripts and production books from Mister Rogers' Neighborhood; public service announcements for both children and adults; and speeches. The Archive also houses awards and citations, photographs, and viewer mail. The vast array of more than 18,000 items in the Archive are essential to the work of the Fred Rogers Center, but they also are intended to be a source for other research into children's television, early childhood development, and Fred Rogers' unique role in bridging both fields.
Lincoln Highway Museum - The Lincoln Highway, our nation's first coast-to-coast highway, stretched from New York City to San Francisco in 1913. It's the one route that changed America forever - marking the birth of popular American tourism - vacationing by automobile. Early motorists traveled to see where history was made, to experience the beauty of nature, to learn about regional differences and to have outdoor fun ... the same reasons people take automobile vacations today!
Lincoln Highway Experience - Visitors who begin their Lincoln Highway journey at our museum, nestled in the Laurel Highlands of Pennsylvania, will have a more enriching tour because they will:
tour a 5,000 sq. ft. Museum Exhibit space with authentic restored artifacts;
have use of a Tour Mate Audio Wand throughout both buildings;
be served a piece of pie and cup of coffee in a restored 1938 Diner;
receive a 60-page Lincoln Highway Driving Guide;
enjoy the bright neon lights and cool period tunes of the 30s and 40s;
view 30 incredible black and white photographs of the Lincoln Highway across PA;
see an award-winning orientation film;
discover which state was the first to offer "vanity" license plates;
distinguish nuances among several restored gas pumps;
generate enough electricity to bike from New York City to San Francisco;
learn about early "Women at the Wheel"; and
write a postcard to mail from the museum - postcard and postage included with admission.
The Lincoln Highway Heritage Corridor was designated in 1995 by Governor Tom Ridge; it is one of twelve Heritage Areas in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The LHHC's work of economic development through tourism takes place along a six-county, 200-mile Corridor from North Huntingdon in the west to beyond Gettysburg in the east. The LHHC's headquarters are located at the Lincoln Highway Experience midway between Latrobe and Ligonier, PA. Enjoy your journey on the Lincoln Highway, and remember to "Keep Thinkin' Lincoln!"
Compass Inn Museum, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is an authentically restored stagecoach stop. It has been a landmark in Laughlintown since 1799 when Phillip Freeman built the log section of the inn. At that time, it was used primarily by wagoners and drovers, young men who "drove" animals to market. Robert and Rachel Armor purchased the inn in 1814 and named it "Compass Inn". The completion of the Philadelphia Pittsburgh Turnpike in 1817 brought stagecoach travel on a regular basis, so in 1820, Mr. Armor built a stone addition to accommodate his increasing business and more prosperous guests. The Inn was used as a stagecoach stop from 1820 until 1862. By 1862, the railroads and canals were well established in Pennsylvania, and people weren't traveling by stagecoach much anymore. So the Armors closed the inn to guests but continued to live there for seven generations until 1966 when it was sold to the Ligonier Valley Historical Society who restored it to its 1820 condition.
Visit Compass Inn Museum to receive an informative and entertaining tour by costumed docents that tells the story of transportation and everyday life in the early 1800s. The tour delivers "history with a smile" by incorporating a generous sprinkling of etymology (word and phrase origins). For example you can learn why we drink in "bars" and "toast" people. The restored Inn is completely furnished with period pieces. Visitors can tour seven rooms including the common room, serving kitchen, ladies’ parlor and four bedrooms. Staying in a hotel was very different in 1820 than it is today. You have to see it to appreciate it.
The tour includes the original Inn, and three reconstructed outbuildings: a cookhouse, blacksmith shop and barn, all completely furnished wit